top of page

Book Review: Six of Crows


Fantasy seems to be high tailing it up, easily becoming one of YA’s most popular genres. These books hold a special place in my heart. They can take us to faraway kingdoms, into epic fights, and show us a world of magic beyond our wildest dreams, and Six of Crows was no different. Just a couple days ago, I finished this book, and I’m happy to say that this one has easily become one of my favorite books!

Six of Crows takes place in Leigh’s critically acclaimed Grishaverse (which reminds me, I still need to read The Shadow and Bone Trilogy) in the realm of Kerch. Ketterdam is the city where the characters call home, for the most part. We are introduced to our six main characters:

First, there’s Kaz Brekker, a seventeen year old convict with a knack for scheming, picking locks, and being one sick ass mother bleeper. He’s had a dark and horrible past that has shaped him into the man we read about. He is the leader of his gang called The Dregs, and in his rise to power, he’s made this gang the most feared of all of Ketterdam.

Then, there’s Inej Ghafa, Kaz’s right hand woman. On the streets, she’s known simply as the Wraith, and her sole job is to gather secrets and intel for Kaz, and maybe do a little bit of his dirty work. She is amazing when it comes to scaling buildings and using her knives. Inej is a former slave girl taken from her family to be sold into the Menagerie, which is basically a whore house. Let’s just say the poor girl has been through a lot.

Next, we have Jesper Fahey, a sharpshooter with a horrible gambling addiction. Jesper is originally from a farm in Novyi Zem, but he decided to set out past his father’s farm His intentions were to attend school in Ketterdam, but when the gambling houses gained control of his wallet, they also gained control of his mind. He’s a member of Kaz’s gang and among those in his inner circle.

Mathias Helvar isn’t from Ketterdam. His origins are rooted deep in the glaciers of Fjerda, where he was once an honorable druskelle, a holy man who hunts the Grisha. He took his position and his faith very seriously, until one day, a Grisha saved his life. Just when he thought he was changing his views of her, she betrays him, and he is thrown in a Kerch prison called Hellgate.

Nina Zenik is a Grisha, a Heartrender with the ability to control people’s bodies. Once a soldier in training for the Second Army, she loves her country and her fellow Grisha, but when events shift into place, she is forced to hide in Ketterdam, using her powers to aide people’s spirits and change their looks, nothing compared to the work she should be doing for her country.

And last, and most certainly not least is Wylan van Eck. He is a prodigy that comes from wealth. He can draw, play the flute, and make bombs. His past is shadowed, something he wishes to keep that way, and though his family is rich, he chose to move out into the slums of Ketterdam. His naivety to the horrors of the Barrel was all because of Kaz, who kept him out of trouble.

These characters are all remarkable in their own way, and I absolutely loved how Bardugo gave them each their own arcs. There were strengths and flaws for every character, and no character was valued above the others, and I really liked that. I love the representation the characters show. For example, Kaz walks with a limp, so he uses a cane. Nina loves to eat, so she’s a little on the husky side, and then Jesper has his gambling problem. Those are just the few things I can come up with at the top of my head, but the point is these characters are relatable and likeable because of their traits. The fact that these traits clash among one another made me even more invested in this book. I’m total trash for team ups, especially if everyone can’t get along at first, and my needs were satisfied.

In this book, Kaz is recruited by a wealthy merchant to pull off a heist: to rescue a scientist by the name of Bo Yul-Bayur from an impenetrable, highly secure prison in Fjierda known as The Ice Court. This is more than a one man job, so naturally, Kaz uses the art of manipulation to recruit others into helping him.The plot kept me on the edge of my seat. Every time I turned the page, the stakes were raised, and conflict was everywhere. One minute, they’re fighting a rival gang, and the next scene, they’re arguing over the best plan of action to take. I never got bored whenever I read this book, and as much as I love character-driven stories, this book was an excellent example of both character and plot driven stories.

I'll be honest with you, this past month has been tough on me. I've had to fight a lot of mental battles, one of them being with loneliness, but being able to read a book like this one really helped. I was in a bad place, a place that sucks to be in, and I'm sorry if this sounds silly, but this book pulled me out of a slum and filled this void in my heart. Leigh Bardugo, if you're reading this, then I want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart for writing this book. These characters are so amazing, and reading this book made me feel like I was there with them during a time when all I felt was loneliness. The plot distracted me from my problems and engulfed my thoughts. All I wanted to do was read this book so I could escape reality. Thank you so much.

I'm sorry if that sounded cliche, but I can’t gush enough about this book. The main things you need to know are:

  1. This book is freaking amazing!

  2. If you’re a writer, and you’re wanting to know how to develop your characters, then read this, because this book is a good example of well-developed characters.

  3. The plot structure is also amazing, and if you write, then I’d recommend reading this book to get a better understanding of how to write a good plot and conflict.

  4. I recommend this book even if you aren’t a writer! If you can read, then you should read this book right now!

I want to type more about this book, but I really don’t want to give anything away. Bottom line is to just read the damn book, and when you do, comment down below so we can gush about it together. If you’ve already read this book, then you do the same! If you liked this article, then share it with your friends, and don’t forget to tell them about the book! Subscribe to my newsletter to get updates on my blogs, and I’ll try to stick to the schedule, but I’ve been busy with CampNaNoWriMo and some personal things, but don’t worry! I’ll keep posting, and you can keep reading, writing, and doing your thing!

bottom of page